The Poor Law Unions of Hertfordshire

Royston Union

The Royston Poor Law Union comprises the parishes of Ashwell, Barkway, Barley, Hinxworth, Kelshall, Nuthampstead (part of Barkway), Reed, Royston and Therfield. In Cambridgshire it includes Abington-in-the-Clay (or Abington Pigotts), Barington, Bassingbourn, Foulmire, Foxton, Guilden Morden, Kneesworth, Litlington, Melbourn, Meldreth, Royston Shepreth, Shingay, Steeple Morden, Thriplow, Wendy and Whaddon. In Essex it includes Great Chishall, Little Chishall and Heydon.

From Atlas to the Topographical Dictionaries of England & Wales

Page updated December 2007