Part of the parish was transferred to Little Amwell in 1864
Published by Christian Novels Publishing Co, circa 1905
See The Postcards of R. W. Harradence of Ware for another postcard of the Parish church and New River.
AMWELL (GREAT), a parish in the hundred and county of Hertford, 1½ mile (S.E. by S.) frpm Ware, containing 1110 inhabitants. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Middlesex, and diocese of London, rated in the king's books at £6, endowed with £200 private benefaction, and £200 royal bounty, and in the patronage of R. C. Elwes, Esq. The church is dedicated to St John the Baptist. In this parish is the East India College, founded on 1806, for the education of young men intended for the civil service of the Hon. East India Company in India: it will admit one hundred and five students, who are under the superintendence of a principal and several professors. On a hill above the church is an ancient mound, the remains of a fortification; and in Barrow field, on the road to Hertford, is a large barrow. Great Amwell has been the residence of some celebrated literary characters, among whom were, Izaak Walton, the noted angler; Mr. Scott, author of several poems and tracts, who built a curious grotto, containing several apartments, which still exists; and Mr. Hoole, the distinguished translator of Tasso, and biographer of Mr. Scott. The remains or Warner, the historian, were interred in the churchyard.
The Stocks, Amwell - See Early Crime and Punishment
Great Amwell Church, late 18th century
from The Book of Amwell
Amwell village in Hertfordshire, about twentie miles from London, not so obscure in itself (if wee consider eyther aptness of the seate, sweetness of the ayre, delicacy of the soyle, mixture of pleasant hills and fertile valleys, thicke woods and serviceable rivers, both fitly and plentifully enterlaced, all which may yeild both pleasure and profit to the inhabitants) as by reason that it is overtopt by foure towns of note barring it on either side from the eye of observation (Hartford to the west, Stansted to the east, Ware to the north and Hodsdon to the south.
Description of Amwell by Thomas Hassall
written in 1631
from The Parish Register and Tithing Book of Thomas Hassall of Amwell
Amwell Church from New River
Charles Martin Post Card posted 1906
London Road, Great Amwell
Charles Martin Post Card posted 1907
Book: The Book of Amwell
How picturesque the view, where up the side
Of that steep bank, her roofs of russet thatch
Rise mix'd with trees, above whose swelling tops
Ascends the tall Church Tow'r, and loftier still
The hill's extended ridge! How picturesque,
Where, slow beneath that bank, the silver stream
Glides by the flowery Isle, and willow groves
Wave on its northern verge, with trembling tufts
Of Osier intermixed.
by John Scott, of Amwell House, published 1776
The Seat of John Hooper Esq.
London: Published by Vernor, Hood & Sharpe, Poultry, May 1, 1811
Drawn and Engraved by J. Storer
For the Beauties of England & Wales [Proof]
Two engravings from Dr David Hughson's Description of London
Amwell, published 1807
New River Head, published 1810
Amwell - , drawn by Ellis and engraved by Sparrow and published by J Stratford, 114 Holborn Hill, March 28, 1807
Book: Amwell and Stanstead's Past in Pictures, by Stephen Doree & David Perman
There is a web site for the Amwell Magna Fishery [http://www.amwellmagnafishery.org.uk/], which includes a detailed history of this long established club.
See also Haileybury College
Dr David Hughson's Description of London, published circa 1810 include a view of the church.
click on thumbnail picture
|Great Amwell Post Office|
If you can add to the information given above tell me.
|October 2009||Book Link Added|
|February 2010||Pictures refreshed + Hughson engraving|
|September 2010||Extrs PC added|
|November 2014||Link to LMA article on the History of the New River|